Saturday (Morning) Special

As I said yesterday, I’ve been out of the game for a bit. So here’s a few things that I’ve run across in the last little while.

1) Stares at the World (link) – I haven’t fully vetted this blog yet, but I’m pretty sure I like it (which isn’t the same thing as saying I agree with/endorse any of it). I have a feeling I will, though. Written by another Canadian vet, it’s well worth checking out.

2) To The Root (link) – This blog is very…different. Not at all what I’d usually read/follow. That said, this is one seriously smart and talented guy (we’ve had some long talks). Swing on over and check him out. Poetry, politics, philosophy, and more.

3) This talk by Victor Davis Hanson (link) – The video is a bit older (2010, I think) but all the more poignant for that, trust me. I’ve been aware of VDH for a while, as I run across his writing occasionally, but it’s only recently that I’ve paid him much attention. I highly recommend a YouTube search for him. VDH is a Classicist and an Historian. His take on contemporary issues in light of long-term historical trends is spectacular.

Leave a Reply

